The 1RomanceEbooks Anniversary Blog Tour with Fiona Vance

HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO 1ROMANCEEBOOKS.COM!

1RomanceEbooks Anniversary Blog Tour - Fiona Vance

Welcome to the last stop on the 1RomanceEbooks Anniversary Blog Tour! I’m Fiona Vance, and I’ll be your hostess for the last leg of your trip. This is stop #34. Your last stop should have been #33 Tina Pavlik/The Romance Studio: http://theromancestudio.blogspot.com.

Men Who Write Romance: What’s up with That?

I just watched one of my favorite movies again — As Good as It Gets with Jack Nicholson as a crotchety old romance author with obsessive compulsive disorder. It made me wonder about something. Men romance writers.

My husband is an author, and he’s been known to inject quite a bit of romance into his books between the whizzing bullets and bad-guy-butt kicking. So why does the concept of a man writing romance seem so strange?

Shakespeare waxed poetic about love. Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina and Pasternak’s Dr. Zhivago are all about love. Cassablanca? Yep, a screenplay written by Julius and Philip Epstein and Howard Koch, based on a play by Murray Burnet. Heck, Erich Segal even *called* his book “Love Story.” And we haven’t even gotten to the poets. Browning. Burns. That utterly disreputable Lord Byron (scandalous!). What happened to make us think it’s strange (or ironically comical, in the case of Nicholson) to find a man penning tales of romance?

This wasn’t the first time I’ve wondered about this. Not even the first time this week. A few nights ago, my seventeen-year-old son, who inherited the writer gene, rushed into the living room in the grip of creative passion and shouted, “Dude! I had the coolest idea for a story. There’s this guy, and he’s from the future, like 2050. The guy goes into a bar…”

“… and says, “Gimme a whiskey. And one for my hoss.”

*crickets.*

Apparently kids don’t tell those jokes anymore. “OK,” I say. “So a guy from 2050 goes into a bar…”

The creative fervor resumes, and my son starts pacing the living room, gesturing wildly with his hands. “Well, he goes into the bar, and there’s some kind of time warp in there. Like a hole in the quantum foam –we’d have to look that part up to make it believable—but he goes back to 2010. And the bar’s still there, and the bartender is a woman!”

My turn for crickets.

“And women bartenders are… unusual?” I ask.

“No! I mean the guy *falls in love* with the woman! And they have to figure out how to get him home, but in the mean time, he gets freaked out by the blender and is like, ‘what the hell was that!’ – I mean, heck, sorry—and it’ll be really funny! Isn’t that cool?”

How do you tell someone who is absolutely quivering with creative zeal that their brand new “original” idea was once one of the biggest sub-genres of romance?

Worse–how do you tell your seventeen-year-old son with the Shaggy-from-Scooby-Doo beard and the endless metal music screaming from the Wii Rock Band that he just wrote… a romance novel?

And why is it so strange to think it’s so strange?

What happened to all those guys who have written about love throughout the ages? And where are they when I need them?

Long story short—we plotted out the story. He’s gonna bang keys—uh, start writing—as soon as he gets finished killing zombies on the Wii.

What do you think? What’s with this double standard? Can men write romance? Should they? Would you buy it? Leave me a comment with your answer to win a copy of Submission by Fiona Vance.

And yes, in real life, I am a woman. And I don’t have any OCDs or hate small dogs. Although I do do a great Jack Nicholson impression with a pair of Ray Bans.

Don’t forget—the more comments you leave, the better your chances of winning the 1RomanceEbook Anniversary Blog Tour Grand Prize: a Sony E-Reader! After you leave your comment, please visit http://1RomanceEbooks.com/blog2010 where you’ll find instructions on what to expect next!

Thanks for stopping by! I can’t wait to hear your answers! Good Luck!

95 responses

  1. pdsinger

    Sure they can write it, and I’ll buy it, but I tend to read m/m romance so there isn’t even a problem to perceive. And hey, as long as you don’t have Jack Nicholson’s hairline… Pam 7906

    July 31, 2010 at 5:42 am

    • Fiona Vance

      LOL! You know, I thought about m/m when I was writing that, and decided just not to go there. I didn’t want anyone to infer that all men who had a romantic streak *had* to be gay. Cuz it just ain’t true! LOL Another double standard 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 10:41 am

  2. Gabrielle

    I’m sure a lot of men can write romance. My best friend a big muscular man over 6 feet tall wrote some of the hottest books I have ever read. It is all written under a pen name because of the double standard and flack.

    Gabrielle #8226

    July 31, 2010 at 6:37 am

    • Fiona Vance

      I know a male erotic romance M/F writer, too–another six-foot guy who most guys are kinda afraid of. 🙂 And his book is *hot*. 🙂 Shoot, I should have mentioned him in this post! And I bet there a lot more!

      July 31, 2010 at 10:43 am

  3. Blanche

    Yes, men can and should write romance and I would/do buy it!

    blog participant #2919

    July 31, 2010 at 6:40 am

    • Fiona Vance

      That’s awesome! I totally agree! 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 10:45 am

  4. Alma

    I think men already write romance books, they either have a pen name, or they just use there initials. So you don’t know if it’s a female writing or a male when using initials or writing under a pen name. I would love to buy and read some male authors books. I probably have some male authors books in my library and don’t know there male authors, as long as it’s good writing.

    Thanks,
    8019

    July 31, 2010 at 6:51 am

    • Fiona Vance

      I know, I bet there are alot of them. I think I read somewhere that Donald Mass, a prominent literary agent, used to write romance novels. I wonder if I have any of those on my shelf…? 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 10:47 am

  5. Carol L.

    Of course they can write Romance and I certainly will buy it.
    I mean who better then to give the guy’s take on Romance ?
    I can’t believe you’re the last of the tour. Nice meeting you though. 🙂
    Carol L.
    Lucky4750@aol.xom

    participant # Carol L. 6916

    July 31, 2010 at 7:00 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Nice to meet you, too! Somehow, I’m always the caboose! LOL. But I hear you on the male perspective… I think it’s kind of sexy!

      July 31, 2010 at 10:49 am

  6. zvi

    Tour Member #2564

    Since Romance is relegated to domestic, womanly pursuits (as opposed to illicit, tragic, society destabilizing folly, cf Romeo & Juliette), that’s why men don’t cop to writing romance novels.

    July 31, 2010 at 7:22 am

    • Fiona Vance

      LOL! Yeah, destroying society as we know it generally isn’t high on the romance heroine’s bucket list! 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 10:51 am

  7. Debra H

    Hi Fiona and Happy Anniversary 1RomanceEbook.com. You ask why the double standard? Maybe because men are from mars and women are from venus. I do think some men write romance but not nearly as much. I know if more men wrote other types or Romance I would read them. As of right now I can’t even get my boyfriend to read any of my romance books. He acts like its taboo and cheesze. I guess unless your Nicholas Sparks its not considered the manly thing to read or write.

    Thanks for the blog,
    deb ;0)

    #7940

    July 31, 2010 at 7:45 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Oh, I know, right? Once in high school, a bunch of friends and I decided we’d try to see if we could get one of the boys to read a little category romance novel. We talked it up in stage whispers of how hot the hero was, and how we’d just fall all over ourselves in our rush to *ahem* — you know — with any guy that treated us like that. Then after a few days, we left it in the back of the room. Sure enough, the book made the rounds through all the guys in our little group! Men always gripe that they don’t understand women… Duh! Here’s your instruction manual!

      July 31, 2010 at 10:59 am

      • Kathrin

        LOL

        July 31, 2010 at 3:12 pm

  8. Hallöchen Fiona,

    That’s an interesting question you put out there for the Grand Finale of the 1 RE Anniversary Blog Tour. Even with some thinking I can only come up with two male authors I read regularly and would associate with romance: J.P. Bowie – who writes m/m; and Nicolas Evans – who’s not classified as romance author, but incorporated beautiful love stories into some of his books. There are other male authors writing m/m romance and erotica, but regarding m/f, I’m drawing a blank. I know there are some male authors writing romance under a female pen name – I don’t really understand why, as I buy a book from a new-to-me author because the blurb / synopsis intrigues me, not because I like her or his name. I’m sure there are many male authors like Nicolas Evans, writing wonderful romances but incorporating those into sci-fi, suspense, paranormal or whatever other stories… Who really knows, for the moment it all remains an unsolved mystery to me…

    On another note, I want to use the opportunity here to thank 1 RE and all participating authors, publishers, reviewers and marketers for this wonderful blog tour. I had a great time, sometimes immersing myself deeper into a subject, sometimes just laughing mao at funny blogs and comments, but always finding something new and intriguing (gosh, I used this word a lot in the last two weeks, didn’t I). I loved commenting on the various blogs (and by this way practicing my English 😉

    I wish you, Fiona, and all the other “blog stops”, as well as my fellow tour participants, all the best and a wonderful second half of the summer. See you around on some blog or other! 🙂

    Happy greetings from Germany,

    Kathrin

    #109

    July 31, 2010 at 7:48 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Hallo! Wie geht’s? 🙂 I’m with you. I think it’s interesting to see a man’s name on the cover. I like Nicholas Evans, too, but haven’t read JP Bowie. I’ll ahve to put him on my TBR list! Thanks for the recommendation! And your English doesn’s sound like it needs any practice. Dein English ist besser als mein Deutch!

      July 31, 2010 at 11:11 am

      • Hallöle again,
        Dein Deutsch ist gar nicht so schlecht 😉
        Here is the link to J.P.s website: http://www.jpbowie.com He was also tour stop # 21.
        Going through my ebooks of (erotic) romance, I actually found about ten+ male writers, but most of them do m/m only (which is very fine by me 🙂 ). I found two that did f/m or menage – Will Belegon & Amicus aka John Cole – but to be honest, I wasn’t too impressed with their stories. After reading some other names here on the blog, I’ll be sure to check them out. The article you posted about male writers with female pen names makes me wonder, how many men in “womens clothes” I have on my book shelfs and in my ebook folders *g*

        July 31, 2010 at 2:55 pm

      • Fiona Vance

        Doesn’t that make you curious? 🙂 I think I may have to do a bit of “investigative reporting” for another blog post one of these days! And thanks for the referrals. I’ve been building my TBR pile all day!

        Fiona Vance http://www.fionavance.com The Highwayman Get It Now at Breathless Press!

        July 31, 2010 at 3:03 pm

  9. Viki S.

    I loved your blog. There shouldn’t be a double standard but as we all know there are double standards everywhere. I must admit that I have not read a romance written by a man yet. But a man writing it would not stop me from reading it. I’m #8060

    July 31, 2010 at 7:57 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Thanks! I don’t think there should be a double standard in anything. Women write things that used to be considered “mens” fiction–hard boiled detective stories, western, action/adventure and the like 🙂 But you gotta ask yourself… how many of those books on your shelf are written by men with a female pen name…??? LOL

      July 31, 2010 at 11:13 am

  10. Wilma Frana

    Men can write romance, and be good at it too. My participation # is 8129

    July 31, 2010 at 8:02 am

    • Fiona Vance

      I completely agree. Someone mentioned Nicholas Sparks. My daughter and I used to watch A Walk to Remember over and over and see how far we could get before one of us cried! LOL

      July 31, 2010 at 11:14 am

  11. Joder

    How cute that your son’s gotten into writing. And with you and your husband as mentors he’ll have a lot of great support.

    Tour Participant #228

    July 31, 2010 at 8:29 am

    • Fiona Vance

      It’s nice to see one of the kids take an interest in the famiily business! LOL Although since I write mostly erotic romance, he’s bummed that I won’t friend him on facebook or let him read my stuff!

      July 31, 2010 at 11:16 am

  12. Larena Wirum

    I think they can write it. How about Leigh Greenwood. I think the reason it seems so strange is the fact that men are supposed to be tough and hide their feelings and it is supposed to be the women that are the romantics. Also you are finding more and more men that are now reading romances so why not write them too. 🙂

    #294

    July 31, 2010 at 9:24 am

    • Fiona Vance

      There you go! Leigh Greenwood! I forgot all about him! They’re coming out of the woodork now! Maybe I’ll have to do a follow-up post and get everyone to submit a name… and make up an All Male Review reading list! 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:19 am

  13. Kim S.

    Huh, you have 17 year old son that gets excited? And talks freely to you? Without a question being answered first? That CHOOSES to write? Outside of school?

    Wanna trade?? Just for a day………so I can see what it’s like???? Nahhh, I wouldn’t trade my baby for nuttin!! I have no issues with him……except for the writing part, he’s just the same. 🙂

    Anyhoo, I think men can write romance just as well as women can, I mean why not? They feel it just like women do, they fantasize, dream, wish and want to escape just like women do. Most just do not know how to express it like women do. I’ve read a few wonderful romances from some very talented men. And would again!

    Have a sunny summer everyone!

    My number is 7936.

    July 31, 2010 at 9:30 am

    • Fiona Vance

      I know, right? A teenager who’s not sullen and embarrased to be seen in posession of a family? LOL. It’s amazing. He even lets me play Wii Rock Band with him–and doesn’t laugh at my mad guitar skilz.

      I think you hit it right on the head… many of them just have never learned to acknowledge it or express it. That’s why the men who can seem so different. And were called poets. 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:29 am

  14. Hi Fiona. I hate to admit I shy away from love stories writtten by men, unless they are m/m books. Why? I suppose I don’t think they would “get it”. I mean, would they know the POV of what a woman would find satisfying as a response to an intense emotional situation? Will he know what a woman wants to hear, do, or say?

    I admit you’ve provided some great points, and even given names of some renowned authors. And there are women authors that write awesome m/m stories. The answer: I need to keep an open mind and embrace the story, not just who wrote it.

    Thanks for the post and a thought-provoking question for this final blog.

    #2251

    July 31, 2010 at 9:36 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Glad to be of help! LOL. I bet you’d be surprised at how some men are able to “get” women. Women romance writers have to write male characters, and granted, if we embody them with a tad more fantasy than they really posess, women readers might not complain. At least not like we would if a man wrote a bad heroine. 🙂 Still… the idea of an open mind is good… you never know what you’ll think if you don’t try! 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:33 am

  15. Cathy M

    If the storyline and writing style work for me, it doesn’t matter who it is written by. Just read a book by Jamieson Wolf, who is a male author with a great collection of paranormal romance stories.

    bp#7923

    July 31, 2010 at 10:03 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Jamieson Wolf is awesome. He writes some really good stories! He’s anohter one of the wonderful authors at Breathless Press. 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:35 am

  16. hotcha1

    HI FIONA!

    I;M STILL TRYING TO WIN YOUR BOOK!

    #115

    July 31, 2010 at 10:25 am

    • Fiona Vance

      LOL! Well, I’ll give you a special wave with my magic wand for luck! Of course, I never win anything. So I’m probably the last person you want offering “Good Luck!” wishes on contests! LOL 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:37 am

  17. Tracey D

    Hello, All.

    Yes, men can write romances. I’ve read several m/m romances written by men and just loved them.

    Thanks for the contest.
    Participant #240

    July 31, 2010 at 10:29 am

    • Fiona Vance

      There is a ton of good m/m out there. And for some reason, no one seems to think it’s odd for gay men to be able to write convincing romance… in fact, there may be the reverse steroptype about women writing m/m. Although I’ve read lots of good m/m by women. Bottom line: I think a good author will be able to write great characters of both genders and portray all kinds of emotions–including love. 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:40 am

  18. Kathy B

    I really enjoy the romances that are written by men. They are sometimes not as complicated as women authored romances. But what I really like is discovering that even though they don’t always express it, men understand relationships just as much as women do.

    Blog Tourist 1550

    July 31, 2010 at 10:32 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Yep, I think you’re right. If they didn’t care about us, they wouldn’t put up with us! LOL. They care as much about us as we do about them 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:41 am

  19. Jason

    Lots of men have written het romance. They just used female pen names. 🙂

    ~smooches~
    Jase
    blog tourist 2267

    July 31, 2010 at 10:53 am

    • Fiona Vance

      I wish I had a magic wand and could find out who on my bookshelf was really a male in a female pen name… maybe there’s a reason a lot of those books don’t have author photos in the back…??? LOL!

      July 31, 2010 at 11:43 am

  20. Vicki Agee

    lol. that’s amazing! the part about your son made me giggle. Anyway, would I read a love story written by a man? Sure. If I thought it had an interesting plot then why not? I usually don’t even pay attention to the author name until I’m done with the book and make a note to either by all their books or never touch anything from them again depending on how I feel about the story. I think the idea of guys writing romance is odd, because on tv, stories, and in life in general I hear a lot of men don’t do anything, they’re lazy, and the woman wish that he’d be more romantic. and on and on it goes. I think it’s due that a lot of people only here the bad side of men when it comes to relationships rather than the guys out there who are complete gentlemen and give the world to their lover. So, them you have guys writing romance and you wonder? Are they just making it up? Do they actually feel that way? o.o men have feelings too??? It’s just kinda a shock factor and all. 🙂

    #7871

    July 31, 2010 at 11:21 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Yeah, it’s weird huh? there are far more men screenwriters than women. All those chick flicks? Yep, lots of ’em are written by men. Sex and the City? Based on a book/column by a woman, Candace Bushnell, but it was Darren Star, a man, who grabbed the story and turned it into the hit show.

      And there are just lots of kinds of men out there. Some are romantics and some aren’t 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:53 am

  21. Maira63303

    Hi Fiona- great post. Fantastic that your son wants to follow in you and your husbands footsteps by writing. I don’t think that it’s weird for men to write romance- I just think that the “macho” soceity has some how told us that it’s wrong….I have no problem with it what so ever. If your a good writer- I’ll read you regardless of gender.

    July 31, 2010 at 11:27 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Thanks! It’s nice to see any kid do something other than video games. LOL. (Although someone’s gotta write those storylines, too….)

      Funny though, how guys can write movies or hit TV series that are all about romance and sex and love… but books are somehow less… cool. Weird… 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:55 am

  22. Maria D.

    Great post ! I don’t think that it’s strange or different for men to write romance novels or inject lots of romance in their books- you gave some prime examples in the post. Our society has its strange moments and for now some people think it’s different/weird but a writers gender never matters to me- how well they write is what is important. Thanks again for a great post.

    July 31, 2010 at 11:30 am

    • Maria D.

      forgot to list my participant #4394

      July 31, 2010 at 11:32 am

      • Fiona Vance

        I just noticed that! I posted back to you about it, and then deleted it, so if you see that post come through just pretend you didnt! LOL

        July 31, 2010 at 11:56 am

  23. Maria D.

    forgot my participant # in the post…#4394

    July 31, 2010 at 11:31 am

  24. Saruby

    Of course, men can, and do, write romance. And yes, I read them. Not all of them, but some. However, I think it is a bit like Sci/Fi 30 years ago, when women, in general, were not authors, or, if they were, used initials or pen names so no one would know they were women. Because people didn’t buy sci/fi written by women. That has changed, although it is still primarily a male bastion (not talking about fantasy, that’s something else entirely.

    #8332

    July 31, 2010 at 11:47 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Yeah, there are still definte gender preferences in different genres. I read one post by a SF person last year about how women were actually ruining SF (!) There were several very colorful comments all around the ‘net after that one!

      July 31, 2010 at 12:02 pm

  25. Brandy Blake

    Hi Fiona. I don’t know why there is a double standard when it comes to men writting romance compared to women. As far as I know I’ve never read a romance written by a man. Its not that i don’t want to, but ya just don’t see them. I would think that it would be more from the male point of view which would be interesting. I hope that this helps. Talk to you soon.

    #6997
    -Brandy
    brandyzbooks@yahoo.com

    July 31, 2010 at 12:07 pm

  26. Fiona Vance

    Hiya Brandy!! 🙂 There are probably more of them out there than we know! I just Googled it and came up with this ineresting article:

    http://www.bostonphoenix.com/alt1/archive/styles/96/10/ROMANCE_NOVELS_BAR.html

    It seems there are several of them out there, and you know what? They blame their use of pen names on us. Tom E. Huff, who wrote the famous “Love’s Tender Fury” in the 80’s (which I owned!) explains it like this: “Women are uncomfortable having men write their fantasies.”

    LOL!

    July 31, 2010 at 12:20 pm

  27. Leni

    Men can, and do write romance and I think people will support it if it’s written well. I think we just love good stories that are told well and tend to show support when we find them.

    Blog Tour #2291

    July 31, 2010 at 12:43 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      “Written Well” is the key to all of it, I think! And you gotta wonder… don’t you think most men would want to be swarmed with all those women fans at the romance conferences?? LOL

      July 31, 2010 at 1:43 pm

  28. Marcieo

    Absolutely! I always look out for male writers, because I keep the hope alive that there are hopeless romantic men out there. But really, most genres, even horror or sci-fi, have romance in them, and those have quite a few male writers. They just think they are writing about cool monsters, or neat machines, but when it comes down to it, a great story has to have really good characters with an interesting emotional background that interact with each other. Otherwise, you might as well read a manual for a light saber, which I admit some guys might find interesting. 😉
    #5532

    July 31, 2010 at 1:24 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      *snort!* I know. You read sometimes in other genre blogs about how certain readers want *no* mushy stuff in their pure sf/fantasy/horror/thrillers etc. I suppose that’s just as valid as romance readers who prefer “closed door” romances with no love scenes. It’s all valid, we all have our own tastes, and there are writers and readers for all kinds of stuff. But personally, I like seeing the other sides of characters’ lives in non-romances. I like a good romantic sub plot here and there 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 1:49 pm

  29. I absolutely love that your son has the writer gene and isn’t scared by it. I have 5 kids – grown (sort of) and they all have creative genes. Some write, some are musicians, both play and write music and some design clothes and jewlery. A few do it all.

    Anyway, I write and none of my sons do, but appreaciate my writing. They help with the plotting and I think for a while men thought it wasn’t good to be in touch with their emotions. Now they can be rough tough marines, yes I have one, fireman, one of those, too. And still be able to be in touch with what romance is all about.

    My youngest son is the biggest romantic and any girl he dates has it good. He knows the value of flowers and jewlery and a well written card. Usually, one he’s written himself.

    Yes, I definitely would buy a romance novel written by a man, but I would read the first few pages and a few in the middle first. This is my acid test for any new author I read.

    Good luck to your son.

    Happy Anniversary 1RE
    #5321

    July 31, 2010 at 1:26 pm

  30. Sure they can write it, just like us women can write from the male pov without being male. I have a feeling we’ve all read many books that have male authors that go by a female pen name just so their “romantic side” isn’t questioned. Not exactly fair of readers to judge a book by an author name, but times are changing…slowly. 😉

    July 31, 2010 at 1:50 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      LOL! I have an idea, Abby… since you and I already write romance, why not write a book under a male pen name and see what kind of response we get to it??? LOL!!

      July 31, 2010 at 2:06 pm

  31. Fiona Vance

    Donna: AWW…. your youngest sounds like he’s going to have no problem figuring women out! LOL It’s great when you see them developing their creative streaks, though, isn’t it? Five of them must make for… lively… evenings around the dinner table! Either that or very quiet ones if everyone’s in his or her own head, plotting/designing/orchestrating/etc…. LOL

    What do you write?

    And I hear you on the acid test! 🙂

    July 31, 2010 at 1:57 pm

  32. Lisa

    I found your comments on male writers of the past who were celebrated for their romantic writings and their counterparts of today who are jeered at/made fun of/etc. very interesting. I hadn’t really thought about those great writers in the past being Romance Writers and being celebrated for it. I personally don’t care whether the book was written by a man or woman as long as it is well written and entertaining. Unless I am looking for a favorite or paticular author at a paticular time I don’t even pay attention to the author’s name at first. It is the summary on the back or jacket that gets my attention as to whether it is something I would like to read or not. If I read it and enjoy it, then I will look into the author and other books I might like to read by that author. The sex of the author doesn’t play a part in it. Look at me just rambling on….

    Tour Member (Participant Number) #5002

    July 31, 2010 at 2:08 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      Rambling on is good! And it’s interesting to see how many people today say they don’t care about the name, but actually pay more attention to the blurb and the writing. That’s the way it ought to be! LOL

      July 31, 2010 at 2:13 pm

  33. Donna

    My husband writes amazing romance. When he first starting writing and asked me to read his work, there were words on paper but there was no heart…heart not in terms of romance but in terms of his heart not being invested in the story. As a joke I started reading some erotic romance novels aloud in the evenings and within a few weeks his writing had transformed and become as passionate and honest as he is. Once they find their voice and feel free to use it, I think men are every bit as good at writing romance as women.

    July 31, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      That is so cool! 🙂 I bet half of it is fear of being made fun of. Most writers have a soft underbelly they’re afraid to expose, and I bet it’s worse for those Mars-y men, when they’re writing about “feelings.” But having an encouraging spouse–and one who reads erotic romance aloud in the evenings? That’s GOTTA be the best encouragement a writer-guy can get! LOL

      July 31, 2010 at 2:17 pm

  34. Amy S.

    Yes, men can write romance. I had this one author I loved to read, I thought it was a woman author. My friend later told me it was a man that wrote them. Leigh Greenwood. His books are very good. #8038.

    July 31, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      Another Leigh Greenwood fan! See? How funny is that when you find out it’s a guy! LOL

      July 31, 2010 at 2:54 pm

  35. Hi Fiona and gang! Great turn out today!! I am late to join the party but I made it.

    Of course men can write romance. Hello, the Notebook…Nicholas Sparks. Never cried so hard in my life.

    Personally I don’t care what gender writes the book, good romance is good romance, no matter who writes it.

    July 31, 2010 at 2:32 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      LOL… That was me with “A Walk to Remember” No matter how many times I see it I bawl like a baby. But dare I admit this in public… I haven’t seen/read the Notebook! *runs and hides behind the couch!*

      July 31, 2010 at 2:56 pm

  36. Mary McCoy

    I think that if any writer truly listens to their characters they can write in any genre believably. The sex of the author is rarely something that I base my original reading decisions on. Thanks for being a great caboose!

    Mary M.

    #765

    July 31, 2010 at 2:38 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      LOL!!! Yeah, that’s me, always a pain in the rear! LOL Don’t forget to take anything you may have left in the overhead compartments!

      July 31, 2010 at 2:58 pm

  37. Beth C.

    I don’t care whether the author is male or female. If I like the blurb I’ll buy the book(when the budget allows). If I like the book I’d be more likely to buy books by that author in the future. Author gender should have nothing to do with it. Only their storytelling skills and how well they listen when the characters speak.

    July 31, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      That’s an awesome line… “how well they listen when the characters speak.” 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 5:06 pm

  38. Beth C.

    Oops.
    Participant #8001.

    noticed I hadn’t put it in just after I hit submit.

    July 31, 2010 at 4:12 pm

  39. brendabh

    I don’t know of any reason why men can’t write romance books. As you said men hundreds of yrs ago wrote about love so men can still write in this day.
    I would buy a romance book written by a man if it sounds like a great book.

    #8440

    July 31, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      We seem to have a consensus here! I’m definitely going to do another post on this one of these days… and see if I can get the men to show up! 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 5:08 pm

  40. Melissa

    Men can definitely write romance. Of course, some of them won’t admit their work is romance. I would buy it, and I am pretty sure that I have several romance books that are written by men.

    Blog Participant #2197

    July 31, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      Heh heh… I’m with you on the “not admitting it” 🙂 LOL

      July 31, 2010 at 5:16 pm

  41. Yadira A.

    Hi Fiona,
    Great post… very funny! I do think men can write romance (just maybe not as well as women). Somtimes I think it’s nice to see that perspective in a romance book just to see how a male would think the story would flow. Although to date I haven’t come across many male romance authors. I think maybe Shakespeare set the bar too high for them, lol:)

    Blog Tour Participant #: 8153
    yadkny@hotmail.com

    July 31, 2010 at 6:15 pm

  42. As most people have said (and I agree) of course men can write romance! As long as a person (of either sex) can experience, fantasize, imagine, practice, indulge, participate, obsess, commit and/or appreciate romantic encounters and relationships and turn those experiences into words–we will have romances! (Say Hallelujah!)

    #7905

    July 31, 2010 at 6:58 pm

  43. Stacey Smith

    Sher thay can wright it you just don’t see Meany that do or thay call it some thing else like sci fi or mystery but its a romance there just trying not to call it one.man like to be sean as manly.

    July 31, 2010 at 7:28 pm

  44. Stacey Smith

    Got so involved in the conversation that I forgot my numbers
    Her thay are
    Stacey 8156
    sasluvbooks(at)yahoo.com

    July 31, 2010 at 7:30 pm

  45. lorettaC

    When I first started ro read Leigh Greenwood, I thouight he was a woman.

    lorettaC
    lbcanton@verizon.net
    #308

    July 31, 2010 at 8:32 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      I know, me too! LOL. And I bet there are a lot more men hiding on my bookshelf, too!

      August 1, 2010 at 11:46 am

  46. Diana

    I loved the bit about your son in your post! I tend to read m/m romance and actively seek out the male authors in the genre (although I really enjoy many of the female ones too!). In my opinion, most of the men tend to be more realistic with their characters interactions– particularily the dialogue.
    I’m #8331

    July 31, 2010 at 9:15 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      That’s interesting… I never thought about the dialogue. I bet you’re right too. Men say many women talk too much, and some men we say don’t talk enough. LOL. So maybe there is a tendency to write more lean, spare dialogue that makes it’s point with fewer words! LOL

      August 1, 2010 at 11:48 am

  47. Amber Scott Project

    One of my college professors wrote historical (or, as he put it, hysterical) romance novels. I do adore the line in that movie about how he imagines a man then takes away reason and accountability. Too Funny!
    #8247

    July 31, 2010 at 9:59 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      ROFL! I know, huh? That’s just classic. Did your prof write under a man’s or woman’s name?

      August 1, 2010 at 11:51 am

  48. First, I love the story about your son and his brainstorming idea. 🙂 I also love his enthusiasm. Second, I think men can and should write romance. I guess it’s that women are so vocal with their emotions, or at least most of us are…and men, well, they tend to hold everything in, and that keeps us from believing the male persuasion can write about falling in love and happily ever afters.

    The blog tour has been lots of fun!

    July 31, 2010 at 11:52 pm

    • Forgot to leave my participation # 8242. 🙂

      July 31, 2010 at 11:56 pm

      • Fiona Vance

        Got it! And yeah, I try never to dampen that enthusiasm. LOL. this has been such an eye-opening conversation!

        August 1, 2010 at 11:52 am

  49. Sorry I didn’t make it by sooner, I hate to miss a good time. But it looks like it was a great crowd.

    August 1, 2010 at 12:18 am

  50. Fiona Vance

    Kate! You were supposed to bring the margaritas! LOL Oh well, you’re jsut in time to help clean up *passes Kate the broom!* LOL

    August 1, 2010 at 11:54 am

  51. Julie Swaney

    I think men can be very romantic so why can’t they write romance book.

    August 11, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      That’s what I’m thinking! I need to get a few of them together and do an article on it! LOL

      August 11, 2010 at 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

