You *Call* Me a Liar, But You Don’t Mean It

I know, I know, you do mean it. You’d never say anything you don’t mean. (Ahem because that would make you a… liar?).

But I gotta say, after being called all kinds of dishonest yesterday, most of you turned around and said I was telling the truth in most of the crazy shenanigans I listed! I’m touched, really. Sort of. I think.

Here’s a recap:

1. I once ate squirrel I shot myself.

2. I used to live in Boston, Mass

3. I used to live in Paris, France

4. I used to be an all-star pitcher until I took a line drive to the face

5. I cannot juggle to save my life.

6.  Unlike Abby Wood, I *have* spit off the Space Needle in Seattle!

7. Despite claiming to know romance, I’m still looking for Mr. Right.

Let’s take a look at these one-by-one.

1. Everyone thinks I’m some kinda Daniel Boon Wannabe and shoot and eat squirrels. I suppose there’s a compliment in there somewhere… as in, I’m a good enough shot to actually *hit* a moving squirrel with a loaded firearm (as opposed to, say, a moving Chevy Venture 7-passenger van. Did you know roadkill can get up into your ventilation system? But that’s a story for another day). LIE. I have neither shot nor eaten squirrel.

2. LIE. I have never lived in Boston, Mass, although I lived in Rhode Island most of my life.

3. LIE. I have never lived in Paris, France, although I lived in Rhode Island most of my life. And I did take four years of French in school, I can still say, “J’ai une maillot jaune” and “Qui est la Bibliotheque?”

4. TRUE! In the sixth grade I pitched on district sixth-grade all-star softball team and did indeed take a line drive to the face. Ruined my career in the big leagues. Another true story: The other day, the hub and the 5-year-old were in the yard playing swordball. That’s like baseball, only my reincarnated-medeival-knight son bats with his large nerf sword. I came out to watch for a moment, and at the first crack of the… sword, I flinched and turned away. I might even have yelped a little. Of course, the foam covered kiddie ball went about three feet, and I was twenty feet away. Don’t laugh. I’m sure the neighbors laughed enough for all of us.

5. LIE! Kaitlin was the only person who stood up for my jugggling ability, so she’s my new best friend. I CAN juggle to save my life. Mwahahaha!

6. LIE. I haven’t spit off the Space Needle. I’ve never even *been* to Seattle. Although I lived in Rhode Island most of my life.

7. LIE. I *have* found Mr. Right. He’s the inspiration for all my romantic heroes. I heart him.

So, the closest answer was Cassidy Hunter’s. She was still wrong (and she still thought I ate that nasty squirrel!) but she’s my winner!

And the Booby Prize goes to Sheila Stewart… who got them all 100% backwards. LOL! (Sheila, hon, if they ever contact you for jury duty, send them to me.)

And thanks everyone for playing!  For those of you who were nominated… I’m watching you… 🙂

10 responses

  1. Well, your hubs is a very lucky man. I’m sure he’ll forgive you for not being able to shoot squirrels.

    I wasn’t quite clear on where you’d lived most of your life. Did you say…France? Or was it Boston? 😛

    Congratz to Cassidy Hunter and Sheila Stewart for winning prizes!

    May 14, 2010 at 8:33 am

    • Fiona Vance

      He’d better. Otherwise I’ll have to start making squirrel for dinner for real. I’ll tell him it’s chicken. he’ll never know…

      Oh wait, the lying is starting to become irresistible…

      May 14, 2010 at 9:16 am

  2. Oh hell!! Oh well, at least I had fun imagining you eatting a squirel. LOL

    Congrats Cassidy!!!

    May 14, 2010 at 9:44 am

    • Fiona Vance

      Hey, you still achieved some rare hit points there, for getting it 100% backwards! That’s almost as good! And I like that you think I’m so exotic and daring! LOL! 🙂 You’re my second new best friend! 🙂

      May 14, 2010 at 10:10 am

  3. Woot! I knew you’d found the love of your life, but still, I somehow managed to confuse you, myself, and God only knows who else. I”m weird. But that’s okay, ’cause I’m the winner. Booyah!!

    May 14, 2010 at 10:09 am

    • Fiona Vance

      I hope you were the winner! I was confused too! 🙂 I think. And yes, you’re always a winner, anyway! 🙂

      May 14, 2010 at 10:11 am

  4. Awww:) Well thank you ; )

    Even after I read that I was closest, I was thinking ‘Was I? Was I really?’ and got all confused again.

    May 14, 2010 at 10:39 am

  5. Darn! Darn! Darn! I was tempted to guess the line drive fiasco, but in the end, I’m a big loser. lol

    You know, the Boston one really threw me off, because to me that is right next to RI. lol

    May 14, 2010 at 11:04 am

    • Fiona Vance

      See? You should always go with your gut! LOL. And I knew the Boston one wold throw people off. I did it on purpose, you big fuzzball. BUT You Win the Geography Award for knowing where RI is! Lots of people don’t think it’s even it’s own state–and think it’s in New York. Honest! 🙂

      May 14, 2010 at 11:12 am

  6. These were great Fiona, lol. Sorry I missed the guessing round, and congrats on your baseball savviness!

    May 15, 2010 at 5:54 am

Leave a Reply

