Woohoo! Submission Debuted at #2

Submission is out!

And the best is that it debuted at #2 on the Red Rose erotic romance best seller list!

What a thrill. Last night at midnight I checked the website.  Of course, the new releases weren’t up yet. So I went to bed pretending I didn’t care.  What a silly thing to do, anyway.  What kind of geek would stand in line all night waiting for the bookstore to open? Who did I think I was waiting for, the Rolling Stones?

Of course, tonight, on a chat with several multi-pubbed, full-time authors, I had to share the news.  And that was the first question I got  — “did you check the publisher’s site at midnight?”

I guess we all get a little giddy on the first release day.  It’s normal, I hear. And so is the fear that once people read our books, they’ll see through our little secret and find out we really can’t write.

So imagine my absolute terror when one of the best editors in the business, Georgia Woods, a senior editor at Loose Id,  went off to buy it!  Suddenly all the squeeing turned to ice-cold horror. You know, like when everyone is having a great time at the party… and then the cops show up? I can shake off the fear of being found out as a no-talent hack when it’s regular folks reading my book. But not an EXPERT in erotic romance! YIKES!

Part of me knows it’s ridiculous.  My book does not suck.  I worked hard, researched, revised, had a good editor. I should hold my head high and say, “Thanks for buying my book! I hope you like it!”

The other part of me is trying to find the first boat outta here, headed to some jungle somewhere, a boat well-stocked with Oreos and Dewars so I eat and drink myself into forgetfulness as I disappear into some dark continent far away. Somewhere they’ll never find me, and where no one will recognize me as that girl who can’t write.

Are all writers this wacked? Take the poll.

Fiona

2 responses

  1. “One of the best editors in the business”? Oh my…you are very gracious, but I’m definitely not sure I deserve that. And uh, by the way, I LOVED your book!

    Hugs!
    Georgia

    December 24, 2009 at 9:55 pm

  2. Um, oh yes you are. *Rolls eyes.* And I can get a petition going that will prove it! 🙂

    December 24, 2009 at 10:06 pm

Leave a Reply

