“Submission” shooters, anyone?

I love my boss.  How many bosses call you up on a Saturday night and say, “We’re having a drinking game. What kind of drink do you want?

I kind of babbled a moment (or five), since this isn’t the kind of question I’m used to getting from most of my previous bosses.  She asked me the title of my book, and I said “Submission.”  Fifteen seconds later, she IM’s me the recipe:

jello_shot_recipeSubmission Cocktail Recipe (Category: Shots)

Use a “In glass” for Submission drink recipe

Dissolve lime jello in a cup of boiling water. Add another cup (or more to taste) of tequila (for special occasions add slices of lime) and mix well. Chill for 2 hours in a freezer or 4 hours in a fridge. Serve in shot glasses

Ingredients :

– 1 packet lime jello

– 1 cup hot water

– 1 cup tequila

The last thing my last boss offered me was an inferiority complex by asking me to search Craigslist for her for a new person to clean her house… at $5 more per hour than she was paying me for my 20 years of marketing and business experience.

Turns out this Submission shooter is made from my favorite flavor jello, and my favorite going-out booze. The woman is a mindreader.  But I began to wonder.  The “Submission” shooter may share the name of my upcoming release, but how historical is it?

Well, it may not be an authentic Regency drink.  But check out this recipe from How to Mix Drinks, or The Bon Vivant’s Companion by Jerry Thomas, dated1862:

old_jello

Here’s to being unfit for waltzing or quadrilling after supper!

Fiona 🙂

5 responses

  1. Lime jello.
    I thought it was banned by the UN for resembling gelatinous astroturf? While I agree that drunken waltzing is the height of entertainment, getting there via lime jello wouldn’t be my first choice. ^_^

    May 31, 2009 at 8:42 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      What, you got something against drunken waltzing? That’s unamerican. Or unbrittish. Or something.

      Can’t you just see a fancy ball with the opulently-dressed ladies smashed on jello shooters, though? Come on, if you put that in a book, everyone would roar that it was an anachronism! 🙂

      So I just may do it! *evil grin*

      May 31, 2009 at 11:19 pm

  2. Sherin Nicole

    I would very much like to partake so plentifully as to be rendered unfit for waltzing after supper. Bring on the jello!

    May 31, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    • Fiona Vance

      Perhaps Thursday Night we can all share a Virtual Celebratory Submission Shot! I’m buying! 🙂

      June 1, 2009 at 7:48 am

  3. Yeah, I’m with Shirin! Bring it on!
    That happens to be MY favorite flavor jello, and MY favorite going-out booze!

    July 12, 2009 at 1:15 pm

Leave a Reply

